Baluda Slope Strength auto-trader

Share your 10.x automated traders here.
Post Reply
Radar
Trader
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 5:39 pm
Location: Round the bend ;)

Re: Baluda Slope Strength auto-trader

Post by Radar »

Hi Spyderman,
spyderman wrote:
faze wrote:I haven't messed with the threshold setting yet, but if you enable it, wouldn't it wait to cross said threshold before jumping right into another trade after mptm closes your basket?

I don't believe baluda works that way in the diff setting. I believe on "level" it has to "retrace" back down and then renter the zone. But on diff it will take orders as long as the price difference is greater than the diff open.

I have Baluda set to run on the Diff setting, with threshold on, and it does seem to wait for tma to retrace before sending more trades for that currency. CAD is at 0.4 and waiting, and EUR is at -0.63 and waiting.

Have fun!

Radar =8^)
Check out my new, (well, old now), manual trade & automatic scale-in manager,
StackManV2
User avatar
glabbeek
Trader
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:09 am
Location: In the middle of the Netherlands

Re: Baluda Slope Strength auto-trader

Post by glabbeek »

is it correct that the EA only enters a trader a new bar starts? So it D1 mode only once a day.

Regards,
Willem-Bram
Regards,
Willem-Bram
User avatar
Baluda
Trader
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:00 pm
Location: An insignificant village in the Netherlands

Re: Baluda Slope Strength auto-trader

Post by Baluda »

glabbeek wrote:is it correct that the EA only enters a trader a new bar starts? So it D1 mode only once a day.
WB,

No, Baluda EA opens a trade when the conditions set are met.

Paul

PS. Welkom op dit forum.
Check the MQL4 Market for my best EA's and Indicators.
michaelhryu
Trader
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 1:32 pm

Re: Baluda Slope Strength auto-trader

Post by michaelhryu »

Baluda wrote:
glabbeek wrote:is it correct that the EA only enters a trader a new bar starts? So it D1 mode only once a day.
WB,

No, Baluda EA opens a trade when the conditions set are met.

Paul

PS. Welkom op dit forum.
Any plan for a new version or update, please?
User avatar
Baluda
Trader
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:00 pm
Location: An insignificant village in the Netherlands

Re: Baluda Slope Strength auto-trader

Post by Baluda »

New version Baluda, v1e, in post 1.
Changes are:
  • Introduced symbol treshold. When used this waits to trade symbols until their slope falls below/over the slope after initialization.
  • Introduced lot sizing. Set 'AccountRiskUnit´ to a non zero value to use that value as a percentage that is weighed with the symbols ATR to calculate the lot size.
Enjoy!

I have NOT tested this, use on demo to see for yourself.

Paul
Check the MQL4 Market for my best EA's and Indicators.
User avatar
gaheitman
Trader
Posts: 655
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:55 pm
Location: Richmond, VA, US

Re: Baluda Slope Strength auto-trader

Post by gaheitman »

Baluda wrote:New version Baluda, v1e, in post 1.
Changes are:
  • Introduced symbol treshold. When used this waits to trade symbols until their slope falls below/over the slope after initialization.
  • Introduced lot sizing. Set 'AccountRiskUnit´ to a non zero value to use that value as a percentage that is weighed with the symbols ATR to calculate the lot size.
Enjoy!

I have NOT tested this, use on demo to see for yourself.

Paul
Paul,

I'm curious about this new bit of code you added:

Code: Select all

	double atrForCalculation = 0;
	for (int i = 0; i < 7; i++)
	{
      atrForCalculation = iATR(symbol, PERIOD_D1, 4, i);
      if (atrForCalculation != 0) break;
	}
I believe ATR includes the current bar in it's calculation, so at the beginning of the day your ATR is going to be a good bit smaller (mathmatically speaking, of course :) ) than it will be at the end of the day. Also, Sunday candles have the same effect, especially with a 4 period ATR. I'd recommend using ADR starting with the previous daily bar and skipping Sunday bars.

I was also wondering why you have the loop trying up to 7 times to get an ATR.

Finally, what do I have to do to get an EA named after me? :lol:

George
User avatar
Baluda
Trader
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:00 pm
Location: An insignificant village in the Netherlands

Re: Baluda Slope Strength auto-trader

Post by Baluda »

gaheitman wrote:I believe ATR includes the current bar in it's calculation, so at the beginning of the day your ATR is going to be a good bit smaller (mathmatically speaking, of course :) ) than it will be at the end of the day. Also, Sunday candles have the same effect, especially with a 4 period ATR. I'd recommend using ADR starting with the previous daily bar and skipping Sunday bars.

I was also wondering why you have the loop trying up to 7 times to get an ATR.

Finally, what do I have to do to get an EA named after me? :lol:
George,

I have been using this code snippet for some years(!) now. It does the job every time. For me it is something that works the way I expect it to.

'Baluda' was given its name by Steve. At some point I took over development and maintenance.

(Just my bad luck :| :? ;) :P )

Paul
Check the MQL4 Market for my best EA's and Indicators.
User avatar
glabbeek
Trader
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:09 am
Location: In the middle of the Netherlands

Re: Baluda Slope Strength auto-trader

Post by glabbeek »

I really believe in the approach that Baluda started.

The correlation between the currencies and the out of synchronization of them, is a good starting point to enter the market.

I've been thinking a lot about the pitfalls of the current approach and one that bothers me is that I'm not convinced that the current SlopeStrength calculation is correct. With this I don't mean the math that is used in the indicator and EA.

Image

In the picture above you can see the 8 base currencies that I use. As you would expect most of them have 7 currency pairs below them, but in my case CAD,CHF and NZD only have 5,6 and 5 pairs.

I convinced that you can only claim the correct individual currency SlopeStrength's if you have all the correct pairs.

Any thoughts on this?

Regards,
Willem-Bram
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,
Willem-Bram
bushiden
Trader
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:19 am

Re: Baluda Slope Strength auto-trader

Post by bushiden »

Is it just me or anyone else experience the earlier problem? The EA open multiple trade only to close it after a few seconds. Im using v1e. Hope I did something wrong here.
User avatar
glabbeek
Trader
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:09 am
Location: In the middle of the Netherlands

Re: Baluda Slope Strength auto-trader

Post by glabbeek »

Just started using V1e this morning and no abnormalities.

Entering postions as expected.

Trading style: trade by difference.
Regards,
Willem-Bram
Post Reply

Return to “10.x EA forum”