cTrader

Discuss potential trading platforms to replace Empty4.
Post your assessments of alternatives that you have tried.
Post Reply
AnotherBrian

cTrader

Post by AnotherBrian »

Many platforms out there, too many for one person to really look into in any great depth. There has been discussion on the cTrader platform and JForex. Since we do not yet have a list of needs and wants for a new platform, I decided to take a closer look at this specific platform and give you all a brief as well as links to additional info to save you the pain of searching.

So I download a demo and gave it a whirl. I was mostly interested in manual chart trading and checking out the programming language to get an idea of the learning curve.

Here's my scatterbrain thoughts on this platform.

First of all, there are 2 separate programs to download, cTrader and cAlgo, what the hell? Not sure why they did this but let's continue.

cTrader is for manaul trading. You can place order in many ways but I really like the chart trading. You can also drag your entriy, stop, and target lines on the chart. This does not run robots. It has a DOM.
cAlgo is for robots. You program using C#, so if moving to this platform we have to grow up and use a real language. Thre is no DOM but you can trade from the chart.

On second thought, perhaps cTrader is for those who don't use robots, the screen is much simpler for a manual trader.

Here is the dowload page

If you want to take a quick look, I recommend downloading cAlgo.

The forum - gives you a quick look at platform issues and what users are asking for, along with some features the web site might not list (such as setting your OWN time zone for charts).

A quick description with screen shots - this will give you a global vew of cTrader and cAlgo. (March 2013)

Another review, less help than the one above

Here is a comparison of coding between C# / Empty4 / MT5 (April 2013)

When I click the sample robot file it opens in Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 that is on my laptop for some reason. I can't image converting code from Empty4 to C#. There was an email posted in another thread for having your MQL converted to C#. I tried it and it bounced back.

What does C# look like? Here is the code for the RSI Sample Robot that comes with the demo.

Code: Select all

using System;
using System.Linq;
using cAlgo.API;
using cAlgo.API.Indicators;
using cAlgo.API.Requests;
using cAlgo.Indicators;

namespace cAlgo.Robots
{
    [Robot]
    public class SampleRSIRobot : Robot
    {
        [Parameter("Source")]
        public DataSeries Source { get; set; }
        
        [Parameter("Periods", DefaultValue = 14)]
        public int Periods { get; set; }

        [Parameter("Stop Loss (pips)", DefaultValue = 10, MinValue = 1)]
        public int StopLoss { get; set; }

        [Parameter("Volume", DefaultValue = 10000, MinValue = 1000)]
        public int Volume { get; set; }
   
		private RelativeStrengthIndex rsi;

        protected override void OnStart()
        {
            rsi = Indicators.RelativeStrengthIndex(Source, Periods);
        }

        protected override void OnTick()
        {
            if (Trade.IsExecuting) return;


            if (rsi.Result.LastValue < 30)
            {
                OpenPosition(TradeType.Buy);
            }
            else if(rsi.Result.LastValue > 70)
            {
                OpenPosition(TradeType.Sell);
            }
        }

        private void OpenPosition(TradeType tradeType)
        {
            foreach (var position in Account.Positions)
            {
                if (position.Label == "SampleRSIRobot" && position.TradeType != tradeType)
                {
                    Trade.Close(position);
                }
            }

            bool hasNeededPosition = Account.Positions.Any(position => position.Label == "SampleRSIRobot" && position.TradeType == tradeType);
            if (!hasNeededPosition)
            {
                var request = new MarketOrderRequest(tradeType, Volume)
                {
                    Label = "SampleRSIRobot",
                    StopLossPips = StopLoss
                };

                Trade.Send(request);
            }
           
        }
    }
}
A note on code - This post by snailbeard said something to me. Even if Metaquotes gets their shit together, not sure I want to be using Empty4 a year from now. My programming skills are far better then 3 years ago, time to move on to something that doesn't have as many walls and workarounds for code.

I Googled cTrader forex broker and was surprised at the list. Here are most of them.

Brokers
http://www.commexfx.com/ctrader.php
http://www.lqdmarkets.com/Trading-Platforms/cTrader
http://www.roboforex.com/trade-conditions/ctrader/
http://www.fxpro.co.uk/trading/platforms/ecn/desktop
http://techcapfx.com/
http://www.divisafx.com/divisa-ctrader.html
http://www.tradersway.com/
http://fibogroup.com/traders/platform.html
http://www.icmarkets.com/trading-platform/ctrader/
http://www.mffx.com/ecn-forex-trading-platforms/
http://www.fxvv.com/
http://www.fideliscm.com/cTrader.aspx

Web Page list of brokers for cTrader

It's time to get familiar with the choices. Let's use this new sub-forum to round up the platforms. If you have coded in C#, or even made an indi in cTrader we would like to hear from you!

Edit:
A helpful post
Last edited by AnotherBrian on Wed Jun 05, 2013 7:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
babalu4u
Trader
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:52 pm
Location: Slovenia - EU

Re: cTrader

Post by babalu4u »

I already start to code for cAlgo - indicator TMA Slope (my first code in C# in my life :oops: )
in development if somebody want to help...
http://www.stevehopwoodforex.com/phpBB3 ... 208#p64208
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
AnotherBrian

Re: cTrader

Post by AnotherBrian »

babalu4u wrote:I already start to code for cAlgo - indicator TMA Slope (my first code in C# in my life :oops: )
in development if somebody want to help...
http://www.stevehopwoodforex.com/phpBB3 ... 208#p64208
What a trooper!! :!: Have you found any useful quick tutorials to get started with C#?
User avatar
babalu4u
Trader
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:52 pm
Location: Slovenia - EU

Re: cTrader

Post by babalu4u »

No I dont find it but its not that hard to start I look to others code and learn from this... is not so hard transition and I think is izzyer to program in cAlgo than in mq4...

p.s.:sorry for my EN
User avatar
babalu4u
Trader
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:52 pm
Location: Slovenia - EU

Re: cTrader

Post by babalu4u »

The support from spotware told me that they plan for new updates to speed up back test, to add optimisation, multicurency bot,... to all my feedback and suggestions msg. they answer in one day....
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
babalu4u
Trader
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:52 pm
Location: Slovenia - EU

Re: cTrader

Post by babalu4u »

Now TMA Slope is calculating right.....
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Jemook
Trader
Posts: 1075
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 10:19 am
Location: Bondi, Sydney, Australia

Re: cTrader

Post by Jemook »

Nice work mate :)
Please note I am no longer affiliated with Global Prime. I've moved on to my next adventure with Afterprime.

Catch me here: https://www.afterprime.com
User avatar
babalu4u
Trader
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:52 pm
Location: Slovenia - EU

Re: cTrader

Post by babalu4u »

THX Jemook... ;)
FXnu
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 11:02 pm

Re: cTrader

Post by FXnu »

http://www.nquotes.net/migration

basic tutorial regarding mql to c#
Radar
Trader
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 5:39 pm
Location: Round the bend ;)

Re: cTrader

Post by Radar »

Hey AnotherBrian,
AnotherBrian wrote: Have you found any useful quick tutorials to get started with C#?
I found this tutorial the other night http://rbwhitaker.wikidot.com/c-sharp-tutorials

It starts off nice and simple, and aims to get you to the point where you can write games. It's pretty slow going for me, but I've only just gotten to the point where I can copy/paste/edit the simplest bits of code in mql4 without breaking anything (and that's after 18 months of playing with the thing) ;) I reckon you'll have it down pat in a few days.

Have fun!

Radar =8^)
Check out my new, (well, old now), manual trade & automatic scale-in manager,
StackManV2
Post Reply

Return to “Finding a new platform”