Just made an IDE for MQL4

w633
Trader

Just made an IDE for MQL4

Post by w633 »

Hello,
this is my first time posting here but I've been gaining a lot from Steve & the community so I think it's time for me to pay back a little.

Most of us are probably using the crappy MetaEditor to code our EA's, and I am really fed up with it so I went ahead and integrated the IDE that I believe can help ease the pain and boost our productivity.

It's not as fancy as Eclipse or Visual Studio, but it achieved most functionalities I need. Some of the feature includes:
  • Syntax Highlight (can still improve)
  • Compiler integration (partially now)
  • Function listing
  • Autocomplete
  • Parameter hint
  • Help integration (press F1 on keyword brings up Help window)
  • Bracket matching
  • Block collapse / expand
  • Snippet, abbreviation support
  • Theming (not straightforward though)
It's an open source project and everyone is welcomed to contribute. The project is located at HERE

Goerge's post at http://www.stevehopwoodforex.com/phpBB3 ... 565#p26565 tells you how to make the editor compile indicator and script code.

You can see some screenshots below...
scite-mql-s1.png
scite-mql-s2.png
scite-mql-s3.png
scite-mql-s4.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
mobthehop
Trader

Re: Just made an IDE for MQL4

Post by mobthehop »

WOW! Going to try out this baby..... Thanks for programming this....

Cheers
w633
Trader

Post by w633 »

Glad that you are gonna try out. I've added another feature that is the integration of the editor and compiler. Whenever there's a compile error, by clicking on the message the editor will take you to the error line and with the dot highlighted before the line. Please see the screenshot below
scite-mql-s5.png
Just like the original metaeditor, you press F5 to compile the code and F1 to bring the help.